beingyoung · lifelesson · lifestuff · Random

Am I Pretty?

 

This song spurred me on to write this,

Yesterday one of my best friends told me he feels like everyone hates him, I told him he should stop telling himself that because they don’t matter,
and you know what? THEY DON’T!

It took me way too long to figure out how to love myself, there was a point in my life where I couldn’t face up to looking at myself without makeup, without a smile on my face, without perfect clothes and perfect eyebrows,

In this world, this society, we’re constantly abused with getting told we aren’t beautfiul,

but true beauty doesn’t depend on your face, it took me years to understand that concept.

These days I tend not to bother with the makeup, just a dab of guilty concealer, but truthfully I am almost at the point that I can say I love myself,

I am slowly falling in love with the girl in the mirror that stares back at me on a morning, the glint in her tired eyes, the hint of a smile on her lips,

I am slowly learning that I don’t have to be stick thin or curvey,

I just have to be me.

Me.

9 thoughts on “Am I Pretty?

  1. I don’t wear much makeup ever. Sometimes a little bit of tan eyeshadow and dollar store mascara, but I recognize that if I wore makeup everyday I would forget my own true beauty. I think that what you are doing is a very brave, honest thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You know the only people who are truly beautiful are the ones who DON’T use makeup?! You are one of those beautiful ones! You recognise your beauty! It makes me happy+! πŸ˜ŠπŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Totally agree! You sound like such an authentic and real person. True beauty is being a strong woman (I whatever way you wish to interpret strong) and unashamedly living life the way you want to. I feel really sorry for women who feel the need to cake on the make up all the time (sometimes it is fun πŸ˜ƒ ) and to look hot / like a Victoria’s Secret model. So fake. So futile. Thanks for being refreshingly brilliant. πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This was a beautiful post. I struggle to like myself and sometimes make up gives me confidence. Sometimes nothing does. I’m not reliant on it at all, but it can make me feel much better about how I feel. My face, my choice. Self confidence is so so important to someone’s happiness and I think it’s disgraceful when ‘society’ shuns people for loving themselves, when it is one of the most essential parts of living.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, I suggest you tell yourself every morning that you are beautiful, look in the mirror and pull a funny face to make yourself smile, you have to be beautiful, your positivity radiates that! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad for you. It had taken me a long while to get over my own insecurities but I swear deciding to fall in love with myself was the best decision I ever made. It’s a beautiful thing for a woman to love herself. 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

