advice · beingyoung · lifelesson · lifestuff · Random

You Don’t Get To Do That

Recently I turned down an offer to be part of a blogging series, initially I’d said yes, but with increasing pressures from school and madressa, I had to say no,

When I write, especially for blogging, I hate it when it’s rushed, because that makes it seem less important than what it actually is. 

But that’s not the point of this post.

By saying no, I created a barrier to blogging, I made it so that I feared the words typed on my screen, I got scared because somewhere in the back of my mind I thought “Is your blog even important to you anymore? Do you care?” 

And because I haven’t been blogging as frequently as I used to, it really got to me, so I just ignored the blue app on my phone screen, just pretended I never had a blog to start with. 

But then  I realised, no. You don’t get to do that. That’s not fair. You started this thing for a reason, you can’t let anyone or anything take that away from you, you can’t let that happen. Just because you don’t write as much, just because the poetry in your mind has been temporarily muted, doesn’t mean you get to quit.

This blog isn’t my life, it isn’t my source of soul solace, it is my opt out. I can write anything on here   anonymously and not get judged or looked at weirdly, I can rant, scream, cry, I can truly be myself.

And nothing and no one should ever make me feel like I’m not worthy of doing so. 

Leave a Reply

